Medical marijuana has actually been discovered to be a reliable treatment for lots of conditions. Unfortunately, Nebraska legislation has still not passed a law to to permit the seriously ill-- those experiencing seizures, extreme mental conditions, AIDS, cancer, etc-- from utilizing medical marijuana. At this point, it still has not even made it on the ballot. As of now, it does not matter if the marijuana you were caught with is legal or unlawful. The state of Nebraska still classifies marijuana as a Schedule I compound, indicating it has a high capacity for abuse and normally no acknowledged medical worth. The possession, sale, and manufacturing of medical marijuana is viewed as a drug crime worthwhile of large fines or imprisonment.
Read more: Prescription DrugsMedical Marijuana PenaltiesMedical marijuana penalties can differ. Nebraska is considered a "decrim state" and so the penalty for a first offense possession charge with a low drug weight of under an ounce begins with a minor fine of $300. Offenders with very first offenses possession charges above an ounce can expect to see fines of $500 and approximately 90 days in jail, while more than a pound can consist of fines of $10,000 and approximately 5 years in jail, or both.
Naturally, the penalties for medical marijuana increase depending of the previous offenses, however if you are jailed for manufacturing or selling any amount of marijuana, you might be penalized with a fine of approximately $25,000, or a minimum of a minimum sentence of one year (and up to 20 years) in jail, if not both.